I’ve Got Your Number: light-hearted rom-com with the Kinsella spark

photo credit

B (85)

I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella was initially recommended to me by my close friend and partner in rom-com crime, who told me it would be a fun “beachy” read. She was spot on.

Though this was the first of Kinsella’s book that I read, I eventually got a second, 20’s Girl, (which I may review in the future, but was less fun for me to read than the former), and I have come to appreciate her light, feminine, witty voice that carries you through her books like a ride on a fluffy, marshmallow cloud. I hope that didn’t take it too far. Let me put it another way: it’s the kind of story you want to read while your getting a pedicure and you’ve got a Frappuccino on your hand.

I’ve Got Your Number is the story of physical therapist and future wife, Poppy Wyatt, a kind, generous, and intelligent woman who can’t seem to truly identify those traits in herself. What makes this read so fun is the combination of likable characters and a funny, twisted plot. The story begins when Poppy loses the ring her PhD fiancé gave to her (and is a family heirloom) at her own engagement party when a fire alarm is triggered. While frantically scrambling to retrieve her precious ring, Poppy has her phone stolen, and is forced to “borrow” a neglected phone that she finds in a reception-area trashcan, which leads to her first conversation with Sam Roxton, the phone’s true owner, and high-level businessman who believes the phone should be respectfully returned. Of course, Poppy is still frantic in her ring search and decides to continue “borrowing” the phone under the promise that she will forward all messages for Sam to his email. So begins a quick-paced, laugh-out-loud unfolding of Poppy and Sam’s mobile relationship. Poppy and Sam, general opposites in nature, tend to frustrate each other with their differences, but ultimately, learn to complement one another through them: while Sam helps Poppy look “smart” in a scrabble game, Poppy helps Sam gain office respect by sending out considerate emails. The dynamic sets up for a funny journey toward self-respect and (surprise!) maybe even romance.

As I told my friend (who will mock me for saying it), I was disappointed with the novel’s ending. It seems rushed, unrealistic, and frankly, so cliché. But, as she would remind me, this is a rom-com; what did I really except? With that in mind, I’ve Got Your Number could just be the fun, quick beach read you need for these lovely summer days.

Leave a Reply

